The elections will be held in karnataka on May 12, 2018, in all 224 constituencies. The counting of votes and announcement of result will be on May 15, 2018.

Here are the 10 points to know about the elections in Karnataka:

1. The Indian National Congress (INC) won 122 seats in the 2013 elections and came to power with a simple majority.

2. The BJP which was in power prior to elections was able to win only 40 seats.


The election was held in a single phase on May 5, 2013 for 223 out of total 224 seats. A voter turnout of 70.23% was recorded

4. The opinion poll for 2018 election suggests it will be a hung assembly with Congress emerging as the largest party.

5. Contrary to survey results, political bookies sway in favor of BJP.

6. The poll predicted that the Congress party will win between 90 and 101 seats while the BJP may secure roughly 78-86 seats.

7. The BJP has announced former CM BS Yeddyurappa as the CM candidate.

8. The Janata Dal could be the most decisive party if it wins around 40 seats.

9. ATM's go dry in Karnataka amid reports of large withdrawals from poll candidates.

10: PM Modi will start touring the poll-bound state from April 29, 2018.

There has been revolt after both the main parties, The BJP and Congress announced the candidates' list.

Some are preparing to contest as independent candidates while some plan to join the opposition party. There are reports that CM Siddaramiah asked for two seats to contest but was denied by the Congress high command.

Read: Karnataka Elections 2018 Opinion Poll: A Hung Assembly?

Also read: Karnataka Elections 2018: BJP banking on PM Modi’s rallies for success

More: Another Bharat Bandh, this time by Anti Quota supporters