The bjp declared its first list of 72 candidates for the 2018 Karnataka Assembly election on April 8, 2018. And on the same day, the opposition Congress party, too, declared for the very first time its candidate list with 218 names at one go. On the other hand, the Janata Dal (Secular) has announced its first list of 126 candidates on March 27, 2018.

Recently, on April 15, 2018, the BJP Central Election Committee comprising of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the party chief Amit Shah, finalized the second list of candidates for the Karnataka assembly election 2018 in Delhi, the national capital of India.

And the list was released the next day, on April 16, 2018.

BJP is vigorously trying to gain back the power in the Karnataka state, after a gap of five years. The party has also announced BS Yeddyurappa as the Chief Ministerial candidate and targets on winning 150 assembly seats out of 224.

According to a report on CNN-News18, no Muslim or Christian candidate has been given a ticket by the Bharatiya Janata Party. Which triggers on the statement by the BJP party leader KS Eshwarappa, "Muslims who are with the Congress are killers, while those work for his party are good Muslims."

This election, the BJP has given tickets to only three women on the list. Whereas, the Congress party for the first time has given tickets to 15 women.

Names of 70 candidates is yet to be declared by the BJPs, six candidates by the Congress party and 98 candidates of the Janata Dal (Secular), for the 2018 Karnataka assembly election.

The Karnataka Assembly Election is going to be held on May 12, 2018, and the result will be announced post three days, which is on May 15, 2018.

The final day of nominating the candidates for the election is on April 24, 2018, and the final date of withdrawal from the election is on April 27, 2018.

The state has turned into a battlefield, and extensive campaigns have begun, both on digital platforms as well as offline. The three major parties, Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal (Secular) are fighting vigorously against each other to gain power in the southern part of the country.

To ensure smooth polling, Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) will be available at all the 56,696 polling booths across the Karnataka state, during this election. And it is estimated, about five crore voters will exercise on electing the members of the 224 Karnataka assembly constituencies.