India's left-handed T20 specialist Suresh raina has been included in the upcoming three Twenty20 games against South Africa.

Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur's name also featured on the list of 16-member squad announced on Thursday.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and skipper Virat Kohli are back in the squad after missing the Sri Lanka series because of their wedding.

Series to start from February 8

The T20 series will start after the six-ODI series that will conclude on February 16.

The first T20 will be played on Feb 18 in Johannesburg while the second and third will be played on Feb 21, and 24 respectively.

Raina's name came as a surprise after he failed to make a good score in the previous series that he played for India.

But he made a match-winning 63 runs in the last match that he played for India against England in Bangalore.

Chennai Super Kings retain Raina

Raina's T20 stats in the IPL is immaculate as he, MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja were all retained by the Chennai Super Kings for the upcoming series in April 2018.

The Indian Premier League auctions are currently going on and the Chennai Super Kings are looking at bagging the best of players available in 2018.

South Africa won the just-concluded three-Test series by a margin of 2-1. India won the third and final Test amazingly by skittling out the hosts for just 177 runs. South Africa was given a target of 244 runs to win the Test.