The eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League will begin on April 7, 2018, at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Defending champions the Mumbai Indians will play the inaugural game. Their opponents will be revealed when the schedule is released next week.

Changes in match timings

The ipl governing body has made significant changes to the match start timing. The first match will be played at 5:30 PM IST and the second match will be played at 7:00 PM.

This means both the matches will overlap when there are two games in a day. In all the previous IPL's, the matches started at 4 PM and 8 PM respectively.

The schedules will be released this week after the player auction on January 27 and 28 in Bangalore.

Chennai retains three of their best players

chennai super kings are back this season after it was banned for two years for match-fixing. They had the right to retain three players, and they booked skipper MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, and Ravindra Jadeja.

Dhoni had played in Pune's team last year under the captainship of Australia's Steven Smith. The team lost the IPL final by a whisker to the Mumbai Indians.

The IPL has submitted the list of 1122 players that are available for auction to the eight franchises. Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, and many other star players will go under the hammer.