The last fixture of lengthy South Africa tour of India, the 1st T20 will be played on February 18, 2018, at the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

The match will start at 4:00 PM IST.

India looking for a clean sweep

India is riding high after demolishing South Africa with an emphatic 5-1 series win and would like to carry forward the winning streak into the 3 match T20 series also. South Africa will once again have to play without the services of Q De Kock & Faf Du Plessis. South Africa is also resting Amla, Rabada, Tahir and Morne Morkel.

JJ Smuts & Reeza Hendricks will be opening for South Africa.

India has included Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina and Jaydev Unadkat in its team.

The final team will be announced just after the toss. South Africa will be aiming to come back into the game after the 5-1 thrashing by India. South Africa has already won the Test series before the visitors got their act right and have pushed the hosts to the wall.

The Indian Captain Kohli is in terrific form and has been instrumental in turning around the fortunes of the team who were dubbed as tigers at home but failed to fire overseas.

The first two Tests further strengthened this notion and the hosts were a little complacent. However, the wounded Indian pride made them play extraordinarily and never looked back since then.

Since 2017, Champion’s Trophy, India has a good record in T20s and has won seven of the ten T20 matches it has played. The Indians have a good record in the shortest format of cricket.

The Indians have scripted their first ODI series win in South Africa. Suresh Raina has made a comeback into the team and it will be interesting to see how he fares. Indians have enjoyed playing in South Africa ever since the triumph in the first T20 championship way back in 2006 under Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Pitch report

The pitch at New Wanderers Stadium is said to favor batting. Five matches have been played in the past and out of these 1 match has been won by the team batting first while the remaining 4 was won by teams which choose to bowl first.

The average 1st inning score is 174 while the average 2nd inning score is 158. Faf Du Plessis has the highest individual score of 119 to his name at this venue

India has a good pace attack

The new additions Raina, KL Rahul and Jaydev Unadkat had already joined the team before the sixth ODI and sweated it out at the nets.

The last T20 matches were played against Sri Lanka by the visitors and key players like Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Kohli were rested and Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj, and Washington were given a chance.

The Indian pace attack looks good with all three bowlers — Unadkat, Bhuvneshwar and Jasprit Bumrah available for selection. Unadkat was bought 11.5 crores at this year’s IPL auction. He could be India’s hidden trump card. Hardik Pandya and two wrist spinners are a certainty in the Indian XI.

Raina’s return has been most intriguing since he has not played ODI cricket for the last two years. He did feature in a T20 series in England He had scored 104 runs in three matches and it included a half-century.

Unadkat, a player who has been under intense scrutiny and ever since their New Zealand trip in October, India has always featured a left arm pacer in their T20 team. After Ashish Nehra retired Unadkat was called in and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar was rested against Sri Lanka.

Live Telecast and online streaming

Viewers can watch the match live on Sony TEN 1 and TEN 1 HD English and Sony TEN 3 and TEN 3 HD Hindi. Willow Tv and SuperSports will telecast the matches in the US and South Africa respectively.

One can also watch the match online streaming on Sony Liv and Hotstar.