Here's a look at the captains of IPL 2018 while they prepare for the upcoming league. The IPL 2018 will be held in April/May at nine different venues and will stretch across 51 days.

MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings)

  • Nickname Mahi, msd, Captain Cool
  • The most expensive player in season 1
  • Under his captaincy, CSK have won two IPL titles in 2010 and 2011
  • Under his captaincy, CSK have reached the IPL finals six times
  • He is the only captain to have won all the ICC trophies

While CSK making a comeback in IPL 2018 after two years, let us see if Dhoni regains his Midas touch from the very first match.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

  • Nickname Hitman
  • He is one of the most successful players in IPL and has the unique record of finishing the match by scoring a last-ball six.
  • Under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians have won the IPL three times in 2013, 2015, 2017
  • He is the only captain to have led his team to win the IPL three times.

Ro-hitman Sharma would be looking for his fourth one in the upcoming season.

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

  • Nickname Chiku, Chase Master
  • He was the second highest run scorer in the 2012 IPL
  • He has the record of most number of runs in an IPL season ( 973 in 16 matches in 2016)
  • He won the orange cap in 2016
  • He won the maximum number of sixes award in 2016
  • He was the most valuable player in 2016 edition
  • He is the first player to reach the 4000 run milestone in the IPL

With so many records to his name, RCB is still in search of their maiden IPL title.

But with King Kohli in the side, it is just a matter of time.

Gautam Gambhir (Delhi Daredevils)

  • Nickname Gauti
  • The Delhi Daredevils captain was the second highest run-getter in the league's inaugural season.
  • He was assigned as the Captain of Kolkata Knight Riders in 2011 and he also led the side to victory in 2012 edition of the IPL.

Hope he regains his unstoppable form in IPL 11.

Steve Smith (Rajasthan Royals)

  • Nickname Smudge
  • He was given the captaincy of Rajasthan Royals in the latter half of 2015 season and led the team to significant victories
  • He led Rising Pune Supergiants to the final of IPL 2017 with a 20 run victory over Mumbai Indians

In February 2018, he was named as the captain of Rajasthan Royals for the upcoming IPL season.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

  • Nickname Lloyd
  • David Warner took the team to their maiden IPL TROPHY in 2016 final
  • He was the orange cap winner in 2015 and 2017

Since 2014 he has been the fulcrum of the Sunrisers top order.

Ravichandran Ashwin (Kings XI Punjab)

  • Nickname Ash
  • He started his IPL career with Chennai Super Kings in 2009
  • He played a major role in Kings's consecutive IPL titles in 2010 and 2011 by picking up 13 and 20 wickets in each season respectively
  • In 2016, Ashwin picked up his 100th wicket against KXIP

On February 26, it was announced that he would captain KXIP In IPL 2018.

Dinesh Karthik (Kolkata Knight Riders)

  • Nickname DK
  • Karthik played in the 2008 IPL as the wicketkeeper for the Delhi Daredevils
  • In 2013, Mumbai Indians went on to win their first IPL trophy with Karthik batting and wicket keeping in all the 19 matches. He was also the key run scorer for the team in the particular season.

In 2018, Dinesh Karthik was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders and appointed as the captain.