Mahendra Singh Dhoni has remained in the “Grade A category” by the BCCI in their new contract. But Dhoni will be paid less by Rs. 2 crores from Jasprit Bumrah. But why?

He was the most successful captain and has been a phenomenal wicket-keeper batsman for India over the years. He is the only captain to led his team to wins in all three formats of cricket, along with securing the No.1 spot in Test team rankings. Under Dhoni’s captaincy, India won the inaugural World Twenty 20 in 2007, the One-Day International World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013.

The Indian team also became the number 1 ranked Test team under his leadership in 2009.

But still, he is getting paid less by as much as 2 crores for his services. Others will be paid Rs. 7 crores playing for Indian Cricket team and Dhoni will be getting 5 crores for his service.This will take effect from October 2017 to September 2018. He will be paid Rs 5 crore for the same period mentioned in the Annual Player Contracts announced by the BCCI on Wednesday, 7th March 2018. Thi is because BCCI has introduced a whole new category called “Grade A+.” The salary cap for these players is 7 crores only, annually. The 5 player’s names are in this Grade A+ category, given below:-

1) Virat Kohli

2) Shikhar Dhawan

3) Rohit Sharma

4) Bhuvneshwar Kumar

5) Jasprit Bumrah

The category “Grade A+” belongs to people those who are playing all the three formats of the game.

Since Dhoni does not fulfill the criteria, he has been kept in Grade A with the other five players in Grade A category.

A category players

While Category A will features players like Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Wriddhiman Saha, along with Dhoni, those who are only playing test cricket.

The B grade contracts

All-rounder Hardik Pandya, Batsman KL Rahul, spin star duo Kuldeep Yadav & Yuzvendra Chahal, Speed star Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik have been awarded Grade B contracts by BCCI. These players will be paid Rs. 3 crore each annually.

The Grade C players are Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel and Jayant Yadav.

These players will be paid Rs. 1 crore each.

The Committee of Administrators (CoA) has reviewed the performances of cricketers and they feel that Indian Cricket needs to be recognized with their fee structure comparable to the best in the world. A BCCI official said this to the press.

Fast bowler Mohd Shami was not offered any contracts due to his personal life’s controversy.