The first match of the tri-series would be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo on March 6, 2018, between hosts Sri Lanka and India.

Live Updates:

Overs 1 - India 9/1

India has beaten Sri Lanka in the last seven T20Is:

Sri Lanka has won the toss and elected to field first.

Virat Kolhi has been rested, and Rohit Sharma is captain of the T20 tri-series in the Nidahas trophy.

The other two teams are hosts Sri Lanka and neighbor Bangladesh. Speaking to the media, Rohit has said that the T20 format is unpredictable and no team is a favorite. All the teams are equally strong, and the contest will be a good one.

The tournament is being held to mark the 70th anniversary of Sri Lanka's independence, and the matches will be played under lights at a single venue, namely, the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Rohit addressed a press conference in Colombo along with Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal and Bangladeshi skipper Mahmudullah.

All the skippers expressed confident about their team's performance.

How the teams stand

India will be without many of the key players like Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, and Hardik Pandya.

Sri Lanka also is without some key players like Angelo Mathews and Asela Gunaratne who are injured. The hosts had played two full series at home and away against India but faced defeats in both.

India ranks in the top four of the ICC T20 Rankings in the T20 tri-series while Sri Lanka is in eighth position and Bangladesh at tenth.

The composition of the Indian squad is balanced with a bunch of newcomers who are rearing to go and prove their worth out in the middle.

Tv telecast and live stream online

The series will be broadcast live on DSport (English commentary). The Hindi commentary will be available on Rishtey Cineplex/HD. It will also be available on JioTV from 7 PM.

Dsport is available on Tata Sky and on other Dish Tv Networks.